

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release Contact Carol Badenoch, (804) 529-6134 cbadenoch@nucps.net

January 16, 2018, Heathsville, VA – Northumberland County Public Schools announces the following personnel appointments for the 2017-2018 year:

- 1. Mr. N. Justin Veney Full-time Custodian at NES
- 2. Mrs. Willie Taylor Head Custodian at NES

The NCPS School Board accepted the letters of retirement from the following staff members that will be retiring at the end of this academic year. The School Board extended their gratitude for the dedication of these valued teachers.

- 1. Patricia Dawson, NHS English Teacher
- 2. Jayne Magerko, NMS CTE Teacher
- 3. Martin Magerko, NHS Mathematics Teacher
- 4. Teresa Simpson, NHS CTE Teacher & CTE Director

Director of Special Education, Mr. Adam Letizia, and NHS Assistant Principal, Mrs. Wanda Henderson, will serve as the Compliance Officer and Alternate Compliance Officer for the following NCPS Policies:

- 1. Policy JB, Equal Educational Opportunities/Non-Discrimination
- 2. Policy JBA, Section 504 Non-Discrimination Policy and Compliance Procedure
- 3. Policy GB, Equal Employment Opportunity/Non-Discrimination

Re-Organization of Board

- 1. Board Chair Mrs. Betty Christopher
- 2. Vice Chair Mrs. Gayle Sterrett
- 3. Clerk Mrs. Carol Badenoch
- 4. Deputy Clerk Ms. Lisa Day
- 5. Regular Board Meeting Second Monday of each month at 6 p.m. Closed meetings will be at 5 p.m. as needed.
- 6. Northern Neck Regional Special Education Program Joint Board Member Mrs. Dana O'Bier
- 7. Northern Neck Technical Center Joint Board Member Mrs. Dana O'Bier
- 8. Chesapeake Bay Governor's School Joint Board Member Mrs. Mary Hooper
- 9. Virginia School Board Association (VSBA) Delegate Mrs. Betty Christopher
- 10. Virginia School Board Association (VSBA) Alternate Delegate Mr. Gerald Howard
- 11. Northumberland County Education Association (NCEA) Liaison Mrs. Mary Hooper
- 12. Superintendent's Designee Mrs. Debbie DeVivi